Taking Stock of Another Week with SEACCRs

Image: Wonder Lake - Mount McKinley National Park

Wonder Lake – Mount McKinley National Park – cc licensed ( BY SA ) flickr photo by Gregory “Greg” Smith

In honor of my Alaskan SEACCR colleagues, the reflection in this photograph seemed fitting. Really quite a beautiful image and landscape. I hope to see some of the Alaskan landscape in person at some point. Until then, I will have settle for arresting secondhand glimpses.

Initial Engagement

Despite delays in Week 2, I have been trying to play a bit of catch-up. I felt like I had a pretty strong opening SEACCR week only to run into a few obstacles which I mentioned in a previous post. Plus, I felt like it was always going to take me a bit longer to fashion a research question. In may respects, I am still getting to know my students, which definitely impacted where I thought I might spend some time sharpening focus.

In terms of contributing to others learning, my contributions were split this week. I jumped into the Twitter chat on Tuesday, which was very warm and inviting with a group not so large as to completely become lost in the flow.

Tweets of a #SEACCR – Week 2

  1. I am with @kl_jones11 on this one. I always have to feel and think my way through everything. not sure anyone else interested #seaccr
  1. Responding the idea of collaborating with a research partner. I have always liked the idea but never been able to pull it off successfully.
  1. #seaccr @aqavzik The writers of “Talking in Class” are all George Hillocks acolytes & he rocks
  1. While I haven’t read this particular title, I have read others from the team of people that wrote Talking in Class. This book seemed on the mark with Amber’s interests. I definitely recommend the authors.
  1. @akh003 #seaccr Thank you, I will look at it right after our twitter session is over.
  1. @aqavzik You bet. You also might want to check out something like discssion protocols. Here’s one source nsrfharmony.org/protocols.html #seaccr
  1. My thinking here was that in possibly using discussion protocols, Amber might be able to elicit more conversation between her students, since protocols offer a bit more structure and expectation.
  1. Need to say, read #seaccr Gorman piece today on literacy All about reading. Where is the writing? How can one be taught w/out other?
  1. My #seaccr AC will definitely involve teaching writing in some fashion
  1. This was a preview of where I was angling for my action research question for the course.
  1. #seaccr Do I have to sacrifice what i feel my class needs just to collaborate?
  2. @BerrysBest That would seem rather silly wouldn’t it? #seaccr
  1. @BerrysBest #seaccr no way. If you don’t want to collaborate it could be that you don’t have someone with the same goals as you.
  1. @BerrysBest I didn’t think it was mandatory for #seaccr but I am not in AK
  1. One of the cool aspects of a Twitter chat is when actual conversation happens, which can be difficult when the stream is active and heavy. Still, this was another quick exchange in hopes of helping.
  1. @ak_leeg Struggling to put comments on blogs. I write them but they don’t save. Any tips? #seaccr
  1. @lgbanner @ak_leeg Pick one thing that you think is the best element and explain why out selected it. Then ask a question #seaccr
  1. @lgbanner @ak_leeg Some of that might be the blog set-up. Make sure you are logged into your blog platform. WIll auto authenticate #seaccr
  1. @BarbraDonachy @lgbanner @ak_leeg If you are logged into Google, should be less problems #seaccr
  1. @lgbanner @ak_leeg Blogspot always gives me trouble. Is it blogspot? #seaccr
  1. @lgbanner #seaccr if you download Chrome, and you log into it – with your google info – then you can comment more easily on blogs
  1. RT @lgbanner: @akh003 @BarbraDonachy @ak_leeg I’ll try google this week. My problem is trying to comment on other people’s blogs. #seaccr
  1. This is kind of a fascinating exchange that reveals how easily miscommunication can happen in 140 characters or less. I jumped in to try and assist. Then, I completely misunderstood the original question. Fortunately, things were clarified and the exchange helped more than one person.

Read next page

Did you find this story interesting? Be the first to  or comment.  

Other Interactions

From there, the week got a little pear-shaped and I was chasing until Sunday. As this third week started I have tried to go back and comment on some classmates’ blogs, which is proving a lot easier when people use WordPress, instead of Blogger. For some reason the Blogger sites are lot more fickle with the commenting. Still, I try to reach out to three or four people each week

So what do you think?

