Review: Fangirl

FangirlFangirl by Rainbow Rowell

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I stumbled across author Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park by way of a friend’s recommendation and really liked it. So I was interested in reading more by Rainbow Rowell. Same friend suggested this title.

Rowell is not necessarily an author I would have likely found on my own, but I am glad that I did.

There is something quite sweet and quirky about the characters she crafts. They are terribly likable. Cath in Fangirl is no exception. A bit high strung and unable to sometimes get out of her own head, her first year at university is both touching and amusing in almost equal measure.

In fact, that is one of the things I appreciate about Rowell, her work has a laugh for every taught and dramatic moment. I laughed out loud on more than one occasion reading Fangirl.

If I were to make one criticism about the book it would be about the ending, which would not be the first time I have levied it about a book. Endings are hard and often leave me a little unsatisfied. I found Fangirl‘s ending lacking a little – not a lot. It just kind of wrapped up more than it really wound its way to an ending. It almost ended as if there were a sequel coming or as if there were a few pages more missing.

Still, I enjoyed the book and continue to appreciate Rowell’s cleverness. Anyone that enjoyed Eleanor & Park would likely enjoy Fangirl. It is a bit lighter and funnier and worth the read.

View all my reviews

So what do you think?

